Please enable JS

Our role and structure

The Board consists of ten ministerially-appointed members representing both the trade and the public. A CE/Registrar is appointed by the Board and supported by 20 employees to undertake the Board's day-to-day operations.

The Board is responsible for administering the registration and licensing systems of plumbers, gasfitters and drainlayers and in doing so, is responsible for setting the minimum standards for registration and ensuring those persons carrying out regulated work are competent to do so.

Broadly speaking, the powers and functions of the Board can be categorised into registration, licensing, competence, discipline and prosecution. The Board receives complaints and, as a result, may investigate and discipline registered persons (including provisional licence holders) or instigate a prosecution in the District Court against those working illegally in the industry.

Do you want to translate the page?

Diana Kuhtz-Covich


Barry Willcox

Deputy Chair

Ken Douglas

Board Member

Deborah Cranko

Board Member

Sue Simons

Board Member

Martin de Gouw

Board Member

Ming-chun Wu

Board Member

Beth Healy

Board Member

Tofa Suafole Gush

Board Member

James Smith

Board Member

Aleyna Hall

Chief Executive